Chakra Overview

Chakras are the major centres of spiritual power in the human body and are circles of energy which balance, store and distribute the energies of life all through our physical body along the subtle body. The subtle body is the non physical body or otherwise known as our soul or spirit, which overlays our physical body. They are connected to major organs or glands that govern other body parts. Its name derives from the an ancient Indian language known as Sanskrit, chakra means “wheel” or “turning”, vortex or circle (cakraṃ चक्रं [ˈtʃəkrə̃],  in Hindi)

The belief in chakras started in India, and is utilized in Ayurvedic medicine, the earliest records of Ayurvedic dates from around 2500 B.C. The word Ayurvedic comes from two Indian words Ayur meaning life and Veda meaning knowledge. Ayurvedic or life knowledge medicine may be interpreted as knowledge on how to lead a healthy life. Ayurvedic medicine observes illness as unevenness in the body, which may be treated with a mixture of meditation, physical exercise and herbal treatments.

Texts and teachings present different numbers of chakras. Also different physical structures are considered chakras. David Gordon White thus emphasizes:If you could imagine chakras as circles of energy, flowing all the way through our body these circles of energy assist in the running of our body, mind and soul. If a chakra is not performing correctly, this could cause our physical health, mental health and our spiritual selves to suffer.

There are hundreds of chakras in our body and many different views on what major chakras are and how many there is.

Most websites and books recognize 7 major chakra centers. Such example can be found on: Chakra energy .
Some reconize 13 major chakras, strting from 0 to 12, and you can read more about that here: wisdomsdoor

Slightly different way to look at chakra colours and the enrgy flow in them is the presentation by Steward Swerdlow:

As you can see, there are many different views on this subject. For me, the most reliable way to find out how many chakras are there, is by feeling and knowing it, rather than waiting for someone to tell me. Think about these enrgies, focus on what is happening inside of you, whatever you are going through. You will feel this energy as soon as you allow yourself. Then you will be able to understand what is happening to you. You will know, if what you are doing in this momnet in your life, is really you. If it wont feel right, by trusting this energy inside of you, you will know what to do.
The same as your body is guiding you and reflecting pain and pleasure, helath and ilness, so will the energies inside of your non physical body.
You would not ignore pain in your body, so it is just as natural, not ignore your soul.

I am still reaserching the whole chakra subject and will be updating this post reguarrly if I come across more. You can also find more info about each chakra on this blog:



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s